If You Have to Cry, Go Outside

So along with my order of textbooks for the upcoming semester, I added a few non-texts that I hope will help my non-school related dreams become reality. First on the list: “If You Have to Cry, Go Outside” by the one and only, Kelly Cutrone.

From the first few pages I could tell it was going to be a book I couldn’t put down (and it was – I read it in a little more than a day).

The book is brutally honest, just like Cutrone herself. She holds nothing back about with her life stories, her lessons learned, and her forewarnings to her readers. For anybody that wants to break into the crazy world of Fashion, Public Relations, Media, or just wants to find their true calling in their line of work, I definitely recommend this read.

A few of my favorite quotes from the book….

“I advise you to seek out your own Anthonys before you are homeless in Times Square. There’s a reason human beings once lived in tribes: it’s useful. Start by identifying people in your community you look up to, and then, graciously with their blessing, use their hard work and experience to your advantage….And if you don’t see any of these people around you, do as much travel and research as you can to figure out where they might be waiting for you.”

“…I tried my best to get the whole country talking about my message with no staff, no office, no assistant, no BlackBerry, and no know-how- just with conviction, truth, and balls. And it worked.”

“Worldly success and divine transcendence are not mutually exclusive. Fame and success with not bring you happiness without a knowledge of yourself and a connection to something greater than yourself.”

Leave a Reply

