Falling Water

I am a huge art and architecture fan. So my freshman year I took an Art History class to fulfill a gen-ed requirement. We spend a week discussing all of the art that is famous in and around Pittsburgh. Andy Warhol, Carnegie Museum of Art and Phipps Conservatory were big focuses – and I quickly made my way to all three. But until this weekend, I had been unable to get myself to (in my opinion) the most impressive house of all – Falling Water.

Built by Frank Lloyd Wright in the 1930’s for the Kaufmann family (of Kaufmann department stores), it sits literally over a waterfall in the mountains about two hours outside of Pittsburgh.

This house was absolutely amazing. Although we were not permitted to take picture inside the house, the pictures from the outside are what really captures the beautiful architecture and creativity at work. The trip was completely worth it.

Leave a comment